Chaser by Rick R Reed

Title: Chaser

Author: Rick R Reed

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Rating: Rating: B

Blurb: Caden DeSarro is what they call a chubby chaser. He likes his guys with a few extra pounds on them. So when he meets Kevin Dodge in a bar bathroom, he can’t help but stare, even if he does make an ass of himself. As far as Caden is concerned, Kevin is physically perfect: a stocky bearded blond with a dick that’s just right. (They met in the bathroom—of course he looked!) But Caden gets tongue-tied and misses his chance.

When Caden runs into Kevin one night on the El train, he figures it’s fate offering him a second shot. Caden manages to get invited back to Kevin’s place for a one-night stand that turns into the kind of relationship he’s dreamed about.

But the course of true love never did run smooth, and Kevin and Caden’s romance is no exception. When Caden returns from a few weeks away on business, Kevin surprises him with a new and “improved” body—one that fits Caden’s shallow friend Bobby’s ideal, not Caden’s. Caden doesn’t know what to do, and his hesitation is just the opportunity Bobby was looking for. This isn’t the same Kevin he fell in love with… is it?

Review: This is the perfect book to curl up with when the tummy is unsettled and your head aches a bit from too many Cosmos the night before. I kicked off the mules and wrapped my favorite boa around my neck and dove in.

Caden is a likable fellow, and when referring to his fondness for overweight fellows, he makes a point about sexual attraction being arbitrary and often unfathomable, but Kevin, the object of his pudgy lust, is hardly what I’d call a fattie. Twenty or thirty pounds overweight, depending on how it’s distributed, can look very fetching indeed. I, myself, admit to liking some curves on my lovers.

I would have enjoyed seeing a main character with some actual heft. You know, like the ones we run into on public transportation that spread out into the adjoining seats or those that have to turn sideways to go through a door. There are many people like this–wonderful, engaging, smart, funny people–who need love, just like everyone else, and that’s what I thought I was getting when I bought this book.

Sadly, as I said, that was not the case. Kevin is merely a tad over his perfect weight, but he is a lovely fellow and I enjoyed watching him and Caden try to work through a slew of misunderstandings as they jogged toward their HEA (both characters are runners). Bobby, Caden’s best friend, is a complete shit, dearies. I loved hating him and I still hope he gets his comeuppance via something more devastating than the harmless, temporary malady the writer inflicted him with. The ending disappointed slightly; I felt it was too abrupt and I found myself wanting a more rounded denouement than I got.

Reed’s writing is competent. It gets the job done, and he tells a very nice story, but darlings, the prose rarely takes flight. While I enjoyed reading this reverse Cinderella story, it didn’t move me enough to grab my beautifully embroidered hankie as I wept perfect salty tears.  But it is a sweet little love story, and I gaylist it as Cher.

Reviewed by: Red Licorice

 

Posted on September 5, 2012, in Red Licorice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for reading and reviewing CHASER.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

