We Gaylist Velvet by Xavier Axelson

Title: Velvet

Author: Xavier Axelson

Publisher: Seventh Window

Rating: A- 

Blurb: The first novel from Xavier Axelson is set against a backdrop of decadence, privilege, and intrigue. Virago, the royal tailor, makes a discovery that will test the bonds of brotherhood, unravel the forbidden secrets of his heart and threaten the very fabric of his existence.

In a land where cruelty is disguised as allegiance, loyalty is masked by obligation and the laws of sumptuary govern the people, nothing is more dangerous than Velvet.

Review: I had no idea what to expect from the blurb, and the first thirty pages or so were a bit difficult, but interesting enough to keep me reading. I wavered, darlings, really I did, but then I sat down wrapped in my boa, the red spike heels kicked into a corner, and started to read. And oh my! A marvelous story began to unfold. I was quickly enraptured.

The tale of Virago and how he discovers himself is wonderful and enthralling. It takes place in a kingdom far from this madding crowd, and every word is full of portent and mystery. The first night, I had to set it aside to sleep, but I immediately returned to this story the very next day, anxious to see how it all played out.

I was not disappointed, my dears. This is a delightful tale from a writer I hope to read more from. Pacing was good, characters were beautifully drawn, and extremely minor editing issues didn’t bother me in the least.

If you are in the mood to be taken to place you will never see in our time, do pick this one up and settle in for an entertaining read. I loved it!

Reviewed by: Red Licorice

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Red Licorice and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. OMFG, a Marilyn!. I am off to buy this now, thanks to your killer rating and review. I’ll wear my son’s boa jacket whilst purchasing 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing Velvet! Glad you enjoyed the story 🙂

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

