When One Door Opens by JD Ruskin

WhenOneDoorOpensLG

Title: When One Door Opens

Author: JD Ruskin

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press

Rating:  B B List

Blurb: Logan Sellers’s parole officer has issued three commandments: stay sober, stay employed, and stay out of trouble. At first Logan thought those three simple rules would be easy to follow. But that was before he accepted a side job assisting his boss’s housebound agoraphobic nephew, Caleb.

Caleb is deceptively normal for a guy who hasn’t left his apartment in three years, and his friendly, caring personality tugs on heartstrings Logan didn’t know he had. But hitting on his boss’s nephew is asking to be unemployed. Logan has enough problems with booze on every corner and a supervisor trying to jump into his bed. He doesn’t need to work out how to free Caleb from the anxiety that keeps him in his apartment; he needs to keep his nose clean, attend his AA meetings, and make a fresh start—alone.

If only his heart would get with the program.

Review: Agoraphobia is no laughing matter. I’ve been there, sweeties, and it’s unpleasant as hell. Trying to explain that fear, and the panic attacks that generally accompany it, to family and friends is impossible. Most of the time, they don’t understand it. Most of the time, they have no idea how to help. Most of the time, they can’t help.

Ruskin gets it right. While reading, I found myself reliving those awful days when I couldn’t leave my apartment. Don’t worry, darlings. I’ve long since shed that terror and am living a normal life. Like Caleb, I had someone who loved me no matter what and he helped me start on the road to recovery, which I, being the brazen bitch I am, managed to complete.

Reading this book made me uncomfortable at times, Caleb’s paralysis was written so vividly, but I loved the story so much, and the main characters were so easy to relate to, I didn’t let it stop me. I wanted to see how Caleb got better.

After some terrifying experiences, and with Logan’s help and that of other caring souls, Caleb starts to turn things around. His attempts to get well will have you rooting for him!

Logan is just as compelling a character. He has his own demons to wrestle. Putting these two together was inspired. With a fine supporting cast of characters, this one will have you staying up until all hours to finish it.

Oh, you’re going to enjoy this one, lovies. This is one book I’ll read again.

Reviewed by: Red Licorice

 

Posted on January 9, 2013, in Red Licorice and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. With a Cher and a review like that I HAVE to read it 🙂

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

