That Witch!

ThatWitchTitle:  That Witch!

Author:  Zoe Lynne

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press May 2013

Rating:  B List:  Cher   B List

Blurb: A Harmony Ink Press Young Adult Title

Cassidy Ryan and Brynn Michaels attend the same high school, but they live in different worlds. Cassidy’s a popular cheerleader, and Brynn’s the social leper. One is all sunshine and rainbows, while the other could’ve been carved from an Edgar Allan Poe book.

Both girls have their problems, though. Cassidy is coming into her birthright—a long line of ancient magic Cassidy isn’t ready to have. Brynn is coming into her sexuality—something that will definitely cause problems with her very conservative family.

When a teacher assigns Cassidy and Brynn to work together on a project, the girls find themselves in a heap of trouble, because what they feel for each other can’t be denied. If they have any hope of changing ignorant and frightened minds, they’ll have to listen to their own hearts first.

Review: I was pretty excited to read this book. First, because it’s a LGBT Young Adult, and second because it’s a lesbian coming out story. I am in love with Harmony Press, an offshoot of Dreamspinner Press, pursuing the young adult LGBT stories out there.

A good f/f story is something you have to hunt for. I have a few go-to authors that do both f/f and m/m that I am confident I will get a solid story out of, but the authors are rare and books are few in number.

I had to stop myself sometimes and revert to teen thinking while reading this book. I have two teens, so it wasn’t that much of a stretch. I had to push back to the hallways of high school and remember the cliques that populate the classrooms and every cafeteria in America. I knew Brynn and Cassidy in high school, and my teens have those girls in their schools right now. The ones who are either hiding, trying to stay invisible and safe, or those who learn to project a false persona to help them cope with the difficulties of growing up and discovering that maybe they are a little different.

In the case of Cassidy, she is a lot different, being a witch along with accepting she is a lesbian. Brynn also has to struggle with the sudden realization of her sexuality.
We get a good picture of the life of these young ladies. We fall in love with Cassidy’s mother and grandmother and get mad at Brynn’s family for their reaction to her coming out. We see these young women experiencing sexual attraction for the first time. And the author does a good job of developing their new relationship.

Okay here is where I get nit picky. There is a phrase in the military when it comes to learning new things. Crawl, walk, run. These girls didn’t. They stood still and then ran as fast as they could. The time from when Brynn hates Cassidy to the moment they declare everlasting love is a max, of two weeks. That drove me bonkers. I don’t like insta-love in my regular adult romances and I sure didn’t like it in this YA one either. Here is my bias. I have two teens. I felt they were too young for the amount of sexual exploration and sleeping together in this book.

Here is what I loved. I loved that the girls’ families reached out to community resources to learn what their girls were going through and how to support and love them well. I liked the reconciliation that occurred throughout the book. And I liked that this story felt like it was written to it’s audience. The author’s voice felt young and appropriate. The setting was realistic (with the exception of the magic bit) and it worked within the context of the story.

Overall, I truly enjoyed this book. I liked the love story that evolved between these girls and the cute story. I would love to read more young adult female/female love stories and I hope this author keeps writing such good ones.

Reviewed by Beans

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Beans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

