Marriage

MarriageTitle:  Marriage

Author:  Cardeno C

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Rating:  A List Marilyn   marilyn a

Blurb:  Join the characters from the Home series in celebrating marriage equality. Each chapter in this minianthology updates readers on the lives of a couple and shares their reaction to the United States Supreme Court decision regarding DOMA.

Review:

Beans:  It’s hard to review something that fulfills all the Cardeno C fangirl dreams. The day this was released I woke up on pins and needles. What would the Supreme Court decide? This was real, and the lives of thousands would be affected. And then the verdicts came down, marriage equality was given a double victory. How do you celebrate? I cried, I laughed, I yelled for joy. And then I was given a gift from my favorite author. This compilation of short stories.

I read my first Cardeno C book and was hooked. Each Home Series story drew me into CC’s world and the men that inhabit it. Each book adds depth to the world Cardeno C creates. We get to ask, who is going to be at brunch on Sunday morning?

We have waited and wanted more. Do Micah and Ben really stay together? What happens with Andrew and Caleb? Noah and Clark, do they stay together, adopt their own brood of kickboxing computer geeks? Our imaginations have run wild!

Cardeno came to our rescue! As I opened the first page my face split into a grin. I was home again with my favorite guys. I watched each one have another page in the book of their lives. I cried with Jonathan and David. I laughed with Zach and Aaron. I waited with baited breath to see what would happen with Andrew and Caleb and Noah with Clark. Then there is the originals, Jake and Nate, the men that taught us about love.

I enjoyed every moment from the first line to the last. I reminisced and basked in my favorite guys. I cheered and laughed and was spoiled to be allowed to peek into bedrooms once again. It was truly a gift. Thank you Cardeno C for inviting us to the ceremony with your book, Marriage.

Nina:  I loved this novella. I have read all of the books in the Home series so these glimpses into the lives of characters who I adore is a true treat.

Catching us up on the lives and happiness and showing us the reactions of each couple in the series to the Supreme Court’s decision regarding DOMA. And no, it’s not preachy or full of agenda. Nor do they all run out to get married. I felt that Cardeno C held true to each story’s couple.

For a huge fan of the series, it was a complete joy and such a gift to see what love and contentment had wrought in each man. To see the families and lives that each couple had built. I got teary-eyed in each one as I reveled in their lives and love and celebrated that they’d made it, happily committed to each other still. I had a huge grin on my face even with the tears in my eyes, a couple of them will have you laughing, all of them are gratifying. I won’t go into detail and ruin it for you (you don’t know how hard it is for me to resist). Let’s just say that the growth, peace and confidence that each man has found in the love and security of the life they’ve built together is very satisfying and absolutely gorgeous.

Each one touched my heart and as I read, one thought kept replaying through my mind, thank you CC for this beautiful gift. Thank you, for allowing us to see our friends again and know that they are well and happy, for satisfying our curiosity, for thinking of us and writing us a wonderful snapshot into each couple’s lives. Thank you for showing the love to your fans who love your wonderful stories.

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Beans, Nina and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

