Superhero

SuperheroTitle:  Superhero 

Author:  Eli Easton 

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Rating:  B List 

Quad Shot of Love

Quad Shot of Love

Blurb:  A Harmony Ink Press Young Adult Title

It’s not easy for a young gay artist like Jordan Carson to grow up in Jefferson, Wisconsin, where all anyone seems to care about in middle school and high school are the sports teams. But Jordan was lucky. He met Owen Nelson in the second grade, and they’ve been BFFs ever since. Owen is a big, beautiful blond and their school’s champion wrestler. No one messes with Owen, or with anyone close to him, and he bucks popular opinion by keeping Jordan as his wingman even after Jordan comes out at school.

Their friendship survives, but Jordan’s worst enemy may be himself: he can’t seem to help the fact that he is head-over-heels in love with a hopeless case—his straight friend, Owen. Owen won’t let anything take Jordan’s friendship away, but he never counted on Jordan running off to find a life of his own. Owen will have to face the nature of their relationship if he’s to win Jordan back.

Review:  Whenever I pick up a YA book I try and change my mentality going into it. I know that grown-ups are the primary readers of YA but they are written and published for the 14-18 crowd. Let’s face it, I am brilliant at acting like I’m 14 again. So with that in mind I opened this book, but quickly got sucked into the story not caring about whether I am in my 30’s or pretending to to be in my teens.

I met Pin man and Pencil boy, or Jordy and Owen. From the first page I fell in love with these two boys. Owen is steadfast, dependable, a good friend, loving , affectionate and no matter what always there for Jordy.

When I think about Jordy I think of a vibrant young man bursting with ideas and colors. He was a perfect counterpoint to Owen. I loved how he created a comic book for the two of them, and dressed all crazy to cheer Owen on at his wrestling matches. Constant support. Constant friend.

Come on, wrestling, superheros, and best friends, it makes for a brilliant story.

There were some tense times. Not everything is roses in their relationship. Between the sexual exploration, the coming out in high school, and pressures on both of them to be something to their families. The story of Pin man and Pencil boy had more than a few wrinkles. But I’m glad to have read them all.

I do have to mention there is quite a lot of sexual exploration and if you are a young person and you don’t feel comfortable reading more graphic scenes, or a parent looking for a book for your young adult, know there are some on page sexual scenes.

I truly enjoyed this book. I liked the way the story was laid out and the characters made me feel invested in their lives. There will be laughter and tears as you read. When it’s done you will feel a sigh of satisfaction for that beautiful moment when you finish a good book.

Reviewed by Beans

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Beans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I loved this book, it was so sweet and yummy and…I just loved it. (Great review by the way!)

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

