Parting Shot

PartingShotTitle:  Parting Shot

Author:  Mary Calmes

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Rating:  A List

Up All Night Satisfaction

Up All Night Satisfaction

Blurb:  A Matter of Time Story

Life has never been easy for Duncan Stiel. His childhood was the stuff of nightmares, and his day job as an undercover police officer forces him to hide his true self and occasionally lands him in the hospital. So when he finally meets the perfect man, it comes as no surprise that everything falls apart around him. What Duncan doesn’t expect is that the hardest hurdle to get over before he can make a life with Aaron Sutter is the one inside himself.

Everyone thinks Aaron has it all—looks, money, fame, and success beyond measure. Everyone, that is, except Aaron. At the end of the day, the cameras stop flashing, friends go back to their own lives, company business is handled, and Aaron is always alone. The moment he meets Duncan Stiel, Aaron knows he’ll do anything to hold onto the larger-than-life detective. But when he realizes money won’t buy him the ultimate happiness, Aaron needs to find the strength to give Duncan something much more important—his heart.

Review:

Beans:  Okay. I became a Mary Calmes girl about 6 months ago. I remember I was searching for a new for me author and I asked Cardeno C for a recommendation. That weekend I read Acrobat. And then proceeded to purchase her entire backlist. I was sunk. I remember reading about Duncan and then going and hunting to see if she was writing his story. So when I found out about this book. Well…lets just say the fangirl was unleashed.

This book starts with you taking a deep breath and you hold it throughout. I was undone through most of the story. Mary doesn’t pull any punches.

Duncan is rough man, in a hard job, holding on to his sanity with his bare hands. You see him raw and broken, loved and shattered and just completely beautiful. He is everything I ever wanted for him. And more. You will read his story, and if you are smart have a box of tissues next to you to cry and scream into.

Aaron is just as complicated. His life is not easy. He has so much and so much to lose. He risks it all for Duncan. There is confusion, and rejection, and hurt along with the love and heat. I enjoyed every moment of the struggle.

I would not use angst to describe this story. Nor would I use joyful. It had this amazing complexity that I found unique and beautiful. Mary Calmes writes with a dark edge to some of her stories, and this book’s edge is sharper than others. They are like a thrill ride, a rollercoaster ride where you sit right at the peak of the rise and there is this moment of breathlessness as you wait to drop. That is Parting Shot…the inhale before you fall.

Nina:  Mary Calmes does it again. I loved this book so much. Being a huge fan of the Matter of Time Series I was so excited to read Aaron Sutter’s story. Just because Jory belongs with Sam, doesn’t mean I don’t like Aaron. I loved this Aaron! I loved Aaron with Duncan. I loved Duncan with Aaron. It was everything that I hoped it would be and more. There was just enough angst to keep things interesting, enough sappy love stuff to satisfy the romantic in me and enough insanely hot sex to have me sweating and in need of a big ice-cold drink.

The layers that Mary Calmes showed us in each man, the ability to be strong, tough, scary and still be vulnerable and open to their lover, was beautiful. These guys were so sweet together and the way they expressed their love physically was awesome!

When you create a series that so many people adore and then write a book about one of the guys that many loved to blame, you are taking a big risk. I trust Mary Calmes to give me what she always does: a sweet, charming, layered, and unforgettable story full of men who are impossible to resist falling in love with.

I think that many have misunderstood Aaron over the years. We also forget that he was being told from the ex’s perspective. One thing that always struck me was that Jory always wanted to keep him in his life, that even though he couldn’t have him as his lover he kept him as his friend. I am so glad that Mary gave us Aaron from her perspective. A generous, complicated man who wanted to love and be loved so badly. Who needed to be truly seen and understood. He needed a partner. He needed Duncan.

I have loved Duncan and craved his story since the moment he first appeared in Jory and Sam’s books. He was so raw and buried so deep. Deep undercover, deep in the closet, deep inside himself. He has gone through so much and I cried for that lost boy who grew into the lost man. I loved that he finally found his reason. I loved that Aaron was his reason and his hope and sanity and sweet surrender. I loved that he was able to be all of those things for Aaron as well.

Two powerful men who come together and are everything the other could ever hope to need.

Posted on August 30, 2013, in Beans, Nina and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Books,Coffee & Captured Moments

A Place to share my love of MM romance, coffee, captured moments, dragons and more.

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

