A Cunning Plan

CunningPlan[A]Title:  A Cunning Plan

Author:  B. Snow

Publisher:  Dreamspinner Press

Length:  208 pages

Rating:  B List

Quad Shot of Love

Quad Shot of Love

Blurb:  Alec, Earl of Whittlesey, lives a dull and reclusive existence, rarely mingling with society and, to his mother’s regret, refusing to marry. But his mother and society do not know he harbors a secret: a kind of madness that is driving him to deadly despair.

When Alec meets the commoner Morgan Villenie, he finds the man’s cheer and wit hard to resist, despite his own dark moods. Alec warms to Villenie, but Villenie has secrets of his own. If these two men are ever truly to be together, they must trust each other enough to reveal those secrets—even if they both believe the truth could tear them apart.

Review:  I have a soft spot in my heart for regency romances. When I opened this book that was what I was expecting. It was so much more. Yes, it was set in the regency era of England, and the aspects of the culture were written exactly how I expected. But there was so much about this book that was unexpected.

Alec is a broken man. He drinks to hide his feelings and his desires. He believes his desires make him mad and it’s killing him. He strives for peace, but shame and pain rule his life. I was so upset over this man. I wept and tore myself up over his pain. His hopelessness was gut wrenching.

Villenie walks into Alec’s life and shakes him up. There are moments when I didn’t know what to do with him. I loved his boldness of spirit and the way he pulled Alec out of his life. But there were too many secrets and I couldn’t make up my mind what was going on. I needed to find out more!

Then the book changed. It changed from a regency romance…to something else completely. To be honest when the twist hit. I stopped and laughed my head off.  I went back and reread. Maybe I read that wrong? But nope.

I really enjoyed this story. Even the crazy ass twist that tossed the whole story into something else. The author has made me insanely curious and I will be reading more from her because this story was so interesting.

Reviewed by Beans 

Posted on February 20, 2014, in Beans and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thank you for taking the time to review my novella! Yes, the twist….Let me tell you, it made the story a bitch to categorize. 😀 I’m glad it didn’t put you off. Thanks again!

  2. And I meant to add, this will probably be the only story with that sort of twist. Although I never thought I’d write something like that, so who really knows….:)

  3. oh please write more historicals though!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

