Mia Kerick Answers Random Questions About Random Acts

 

unnamedRandom Acts by Mia Kerick

Published by Dreamspinner Press

Blurb:  Bradley Zelder can’t find his way in life. After struggling for nearly a decade, he has yet to complete his college degree. Working as a school custodian, living in blue-collar Landsbury, MA, his love life is as empty as the rest of his existence. But on his way home after another disastrous date, his truck breaks down in upscale Oceanside. When he thinks life can’t get any worse, a man who is the epitome of Boston elite and everything Bradley finds attractive and intimidating helps him move his truck to the side of the road. Ashamed of his lot in life, Bradley almost lets the opportunity slip away, but he comes to his senses in time and tracks Caleb down.

From a random act of kindness, romance begins to grow, filling all the dark corners of Bradley’s empty life—until a random act of violence threatens to take it all away. Bradley must step up and be the man Caleb believes him to be. Caleb rescued him from a life without hope. Can Bradley rescue him in return?

 

unnamed-1

 

 

DreamspinnerPress

 

Amazon Kindle Button

B&N Nook

Add to Goodreads

Add to Goodreads

 

Random Questions from Random Readers for Random Acts Blog Tour

I’ve never been particularly comfortable with the random parts of life. Like my character Caleb Jorde, in Random Acts, I would prefer to know what’s coming in life and to be afforded with plenty of opportunity to structure my world into clear emotional categories in order to prepare. That way I’d be ready for any tragedy and any joy. For anything and everything life could toss my way—this girl would be prepared.

But maybe that’s not such a good idea after all… Maybe it’s best to savor the awesome moments as they occur, and to deal with the hardships on a need to be dealt with basis. Maybe life can be random and maybe that’s a good thing. Maybe that good part of random can start with these random questions from my readers.

Short questions from Kari:

Cats or dogs? Cats

Pinterets or Tumbler? pinterest

Do you dream in color? I assume so, but I don’t know. Next time I dream I will try to check.

How do you feel about Jon Lester trade? BAD but I am gradually recovering

From Beckey:

Boxers or briefs kind of writer? mainly boxers

Favorite subject in school? chorus

Favorite color? green

Introvert or Extrovert? a very friendly introvert (I recharge alone)

From Kevin:

Left-handed or right? Right

What book will have a sequel next? Us Three’s sequel comes out in January of 2015

From Kate Pavelle:

Where do you write from? Island in kitchen made of uneven barn board (very challenging writing surface) or sunken in couch in Red Sox Room

Have you ever NOT changed a name to protect the guilty? Bradley in Random Acts is named after Bradley Cooper and he looks just like him!

And a few questions with longer answers from Marieke:

What made you write m/m?

I wrote stories for many years that I stuffed under the mattress, and my male characters were always more well fleshed-out and maybe even likeable than my female characters. When I started to write romance as a career, I decided that I would do what I do best and write two men. But it was beyond just a circumstantial decision for me. I am a stay-at-home mother and have been since I had children. I have depended on my husband for insurance. I become angry when I think that all couples committed enough to marry can not take care of each other in this way—by marrying and getting the benefits, like insurance, with which marriage provides you.

Practical, not romantic, but real.

Where do you get your ideas?

There is really not one set answer, as my ideas come from different places. With my first novel, Beggars and Choosers, it was a story that I had written in my mind and in spiral bound notebooks when I was about thirteen years old. I was the main character Cory, and all of the other characters in the book were based on band members from Queen and Journey.

Random Acts was inspired by two men who I find very different, and very intriguing.

Bradley Zelder was inspired by Bradley Cooper and Caleb Jorde was inspired by a certain other man I know, who I will not name. I thought about their personalities, and how moving it would be to see a confident, cool, wealthy, educated man become vulnerable to his partner who is none of those things. Random Acts was the result.

Edward Cullen from Twilight was also an inspiration for Brett in Beggars and Choosers. I wanted to make my own selfless guy who would do ANYTHING for love, but who was a bit rough and tough around the edges.

For other books, my ideas have come from EVERYWHERE. For Intervention– the idea came from my love of pop music and my desire to show that love can help you conquer even the worst circumstances.

For A Package Deal, it came into my mind that a family does not need to be comprised of those with whom you share blood. I wanted to write a story about “A Chosen Family”, and thus, I wrote A Package Deal, where Robbie gets Tristan and Savannah, his unconventional family, together in one package.

For The Red Sheet, my inspiration came from the song “Superman” by Five for Fighting—I just loved it so much—and also, I decided I was not going to obey typical writers conventions, but instead I was just going to write whatever came into my mind. I said to myself- “Mia, don’t hold back anything”, and I didn’t.

I got the idea for Us Three, because I have always been fascinated with the topic of polyamory. And I thought and thought and could not come up with a fictional mmm YA throuple, as Scott calls their relationship in One Voice, the sequel. I challenged myself. “Can you write a YA Menage, Mia? Can it be done appropriately and sweetly?” I thought it could be done and so I did it.

I recently completed a book that I called His Way, but have since rewritten and it is now called Inclination. I have not yet contracted it with a publisher. In any case, it bothers me how many LGBT people feel alienated by organized religion, as well as by God. I researched gay Christianity, learned an immense amount, and turned what I learned into a story.

I soon plan to write about an issue that many people know is near to my heart, self acceptance, in particular of one’s body. The idea is slowly forming in my brain.

Thank you for having me on your blog!!

❤ Mia

 

Mia Kerick is the mother of four exceptional children—all named after saints—and five nonpedigreed cats—all named after the next best thing to saints, Boston Red Sox players. Her husband of twenty years has been told by many that he has the patience of Job, but don’t ask Mia about that, as it is a sensitive subject.

Mia focuses her stories on the emotional growth of troubled young men and their relationships, and she believes that sex has a place in a love story, but not until it is firmly established as a love story. As a teen, Mia filled spiral-bound notebooks with romantic tales of tortured heroes (most of whom happened to strongly resemble lead vocalists of 1980s big-hair bands) and stuffed them under her mattress for safekeeping. She is thankful to Dreamspinner Press for providing her with an alternate place to stash her stories.

Mia is proud of her involvement with the Human Rights Campaign and cheers for each and every victory made in the name of marital equality. Her only major regret: never having taken typing or computer class in school, destining her to a life consumed with two-fingered pecking and constant prayer to the Gods of Technology.

Mia has published four works of adult contemporary gay romantic fiction with Dreamspinner Press and four novels of contemporary LGBT fiction with Harmony Ink Press. Mia Kerick’s books are recommended reads in the LGBT blogging/reading community, have spent many weeks on Amazon Hot New Releases and LGBT Best Sellers lists, as well as other notable bestseller lists, and have won awards for excellence in YA literature.

You can find Mia Kerick at any of these places: Website , Blog , Goodreads  , Facebook ,

Twitter:@MiaKerick (https://twitter.com/MiaKerickAmazon author page ,

Dreamspinner author page ,  and her Newsletter

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

 

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Posted on November 3, 2014, in Guest Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I very much liked the interview and all the different questions! You are one very busy lady!

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Books,Coffee & Captured Moments

A Place to share my love of MM romance, coffee, captured moments, dragons and more.

Charlotte Anderson

Sherlock, Star Trek Fan Fiction. Original Stories Too

Shot out of a cannon...

When can I get off this ride?

leetee2007

review M/M books

Lloyd's World

L.V. Lloyd - LGBT writer

Petra's Paranormal Palace

Petra Lynn: Gay Paranormal Romance Author

EM Lynley

LGBT Literary Love Shack

The Iron-Jawed Author

ramblings of a middle grade author

